Universidad de Zaragoza - Spain

The University of Zaragoza is the main centre of research, education and technological transfer in the Ebro Valley and enjoys a great prestige among the Spanish and European Universities.

The Institute of Nanoscience of Aragon (INA), founded in 2003, is an interdisciplinary research institute at the University of Zaragoza and is devoted to R+D in Nanoscience and Nanotechnology. Its activities are based on the design and processing of micro- and nanoscale structures and on the study of new physical phenomena and applications in close collaboration with industrial partners and technological centres from different areas. INA hosts the Laboratory of Advanced Microscopies (LMA), a unique initiative, both nationally and internationally to bring together in a single platform the most advanced existing infrastructures and expertise in scanning probe, electron and ion microscopy for the observation, characterization, nano-patterning and handling of materials at atomic level. In October 2014, the LMA was officially acknowledged as one of the new Spanish ICTS (Instalación Científico-Técnica Singular – Singular Scientific and Technological Infrastructure), becoming a key member of the Spanish network of strategic large scientific facilities.

With a research staff of about 110 scientists and 13 technicians, INA covers 3 main research areas:
- Nanobiotechnology for Biomedical applications in nanotherapy and nanodiagnosis (devoted to the synthesis, functionalization and investigation of nanoparticles, biosensors and biochips).
- Physical phenomena at the nanoscale mainly dedicated to the growth of thin films and micro and nanopatterning of magnetic devices for spintronic applications: thin films multilayers, magnetoresistive sensors, and micro and nanodevices (MND), nanoconstrictions and nanowires.
- Nanomaterials, devoted to the bottom-up fabrication of nanostructures: dendrimers, mesoporous membranes, carbon nanotubes, Langmuir Blodget films.

Local contact:

Ricardo Ibarra - This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.